Briefly on Last Chance Harvey…

January 9, 2009

I just saw the movie “Last Chance Harvey” at the Regal Cinema in Union Square. Starring Dustin Hoffman and Emma Thompson, I knew it would be something to see (in spite of Dustin Hoffman’s questionable choices in films to make of late). First, it was a romantic comedy, meaning irresistible to Robert. Second, I love these two actors: seeing Emma Thompson in absolutely anything and Dustin Hoffman in Tootsie or The Graduate is the mark of a complete life.

Emma Thompson and Dustin Hoffman in Last Chance Harvey

Emma Thompson and Dustin Hoffman in Last Chance Harvey

My expectations were not that high since the marketing campaign for this movie seemed to be completely non-existent. And while I was not entirely bowled over by the love story, which was much quicker than that of “Slumdog”‘s, I did enjoy the film. It was never funny or moving, but it did provide me with a pleasant evening, and I felt better by the end of the film than I did when I came in. That is all I can ask from a movie, I suppose. It will never top my list of favorite romantic comedies, and I would never outright recommend it. But if you are looking for a quick, feel-a-little-better film, this movie provides.

4 Responses to “Briefly on Last Chance Harvey…”

  1. janti undari said

    it was a sweet and not so complicated love story , happening in daily life, but this movie could reveal the expressions of those who fall in love. i saw this movie more than once, it’s love about older people…

  2. Nessie said

    I loved this film… It is not a spectacular blockbuster, it was just a nice film about ordinary people falling in love. An me, being a huge fan of Emma Thompson was not disappointed at all!

  3. CMrok93 said

    Hoffman and Thompson prove you can never be too old to make memories and their romance is certainly one to remember. It may be a little predictable and corny at points, but there is still enough good moments to keep you watching. Good review, check out mine when you can!

Leave a Reply

