Thoughts on Golden Globe fashion…

January 12, 2009

I do not like award shows. They do not entertain me. The movies and actors they celebrate do. So I leave it to their movies and their television shows to be their ackowledgement and triumph. Those movies and shows will last longer than the memory of any speech they will make at an awards ceremony. The Golden Globes in particular, which really do nothing for me other than prepare me for the Oscars.

But, hey. At least there is the red carpet and the fashions to look at. Here is a look at my favorites from last night and the others that grabbed my attention.

Versace

Versace

January Jones from Mad Men looks wonderful in Versace. Perfect color for her fair skin. Perfect hair to complement the overall shape of the gown and offset the strong lines. Very old glamour-art deco feel.

Chanel Haute

Chanel Haute

Cameron Diaz, attending for who knows what reason, stole the show with this pink gown by Chanel Haute Couture. It is perfect for the Golden Globes: not too formal, light weight, and more expressive with color. Even the shoes are great.

Christian Lacroix

Christian Lacroix

Freida Pinto of Slumdog Millionaire looks great in this mustard gown by Christian Lacroix. The color is a fantastically rich pastel, like Cameron Diaz’s, and gives her body some necessary curve by bringing out those hips and that bust, while extending the length of the leg. The hair is easy, providing the necessary messiness (seemingly preferred this year), but still giving a clear shape.

Elie Saab

Elie Saab

Evan Rachel Wood, not known for her dressing skills, scores a big hit with this dress by Elie Saab. Take note Tina Fey (this is said with love, I swear), this is what a plunging neckline should look like. With the pulled back hair, she really looks great.

Carolina Herrera

Carolina Herrera

Renee Zellweger definitely took a risk with this gown by Carolina Herrera. And I think it works well. Sort of Victorian, I like the transparent top when added to the lush cut of the opaque fish tail. The hair I am NOT crazy about.

Lanvin

Lanvin

I love Kristen Scott Thomas. And, although this looks a little messier than I would prefer, I think this outfit by Lanvin works well on her. I am not a big fan of flesh tones, and I would have liked to see this in an olive tone or white. That bag is a big no for me.

J. Mendel

J. Mendel

This is a gorgeous dress by J. Mendel. And Kate Beckinsale has the perfect body for it. I think it may be a little too formal for the Golden Globes, but those earrings offset the formality and make it seem, along with the bracelet, more hip and fun.

Dior

Dior

Dior

Dior

Sandra Bullock (right) and Eva Mendes (left) both look hot in these Dior gowns.

Leave a Reply

